Benarkin Brings Victory for McConkey

Gerard McConkey and co-driver Russell Hewett have won the KCF Rallysport Short Course Challenge – Burnett Sprint.  

The event was run by the Brisbane Sporting Car Club and based in Benarkin, QLD. This was a paced noted rally using 2 stages of forestry roads, finishing with a larger ‘combo’ stage.  The results were determined over the best 2 passes of each the stages plus the larger stage time, providing a different format for competitors.

On the pace early was McConkey/Hewett in their (Living Here Wilston) 1999 Subaru WRX.  The pair winning every stage bar the last, also winning fastest Four Wheel Drive (4WD) class. Coming second outright and 4WD was Carey Cahal and Ronnie Bustard, (Glendun Group) in a 2009 Mitsubishi Evo 9.  Carey/Bustard tried hard to reign in the winners with a fastest time on the final stage, but could only reduce the gap to 14s. Third place and fastest Rear Wheel Drive (RWD) was Craig Aggio and Megan Benson (Steerfast) in a classic Toyota Corolla KE30.

Following in fourth outright and third 4WD was Kim Acworth and Ryan Preston (Acworth Recruitment) in their 2004 Subaru WRX Sti.  Rounding out the top 5 was Shaun Dragona and Ray Priest (Dasha Racing) in a 2003 Subaru WRX Sti.

For the class of RWD coming second in a 1974 Mazda RX2 was David Ovenden and Bruce Tyler (Frame Warehouse Ashgrove), followed by an improving Dominic Corkeron and Dennis Neagle (Managed Consulting) 1988 BMW E30.

For the class of Front Wheel Drive (FWD)it was a family affair.  First place, making a return to the sport, was Tim Dillon and mum Debbie Dillon in a 1998 Hyundai Excel.  Second place was brother Nathaniel Dillon and Mark Malpas ( 1996 Suzuki Baleno and third place were brothers Stephen and Jarryd Whittaker (Whittaker Rally Sport) Mitsubishi Mirage.

The next KCF Rallysport Short Course Challenge will be located in the forest of Jimna Saturday October 26.

Media release supplied by a competitor.