Benarkin Brings Victory for McConkey

August 15th, 2019|0 Comments

Image by Steve Spencer Gerard McConkey and co-driver Russell Hewett have won the KCF Rallysport Short Course Challenge - Burnett Sprint.   The event was run by the Brisbane Sporting Car Club and [...]

A Thrilling Win for Hoy

July 31st, 2019|0 Comments

Image by CH Images The P3 Solutions CAMS QLD Rally Championship has had 3 different winners in as many rounds with Clayton Hoy and Alan Stean victorious at the Accent Benchtops Working Dog [...]

Maiden win for Wilson Brothers in Manumbar

June 25th, 2019|0 Comments

Brayden Wilson / Blake Wilson - Image by CH Images Brothers Brayden and Blake Wilson have won their first-ever rally, the SR Automotive Manumbar Rally.  The young pair showed maturity and speed beyond [...]

Image by Steve Spencer

Gerard McConkey and co-driver Russell Hewett have won the KCF Rallysport Short Course Challenge – Burnett Sprint.

The event was run by the Brisbane Sporting Car Club and based in Benarkin, QLD. This was a paced noted rally using 2 stages of forestry roads, finishing with a larger ‘combo’ stage.  The results were determined over the best 2 passes of each the stages plus the larger stage time, providing a different format for competitors.

On the pace early was McConkey/Hewett in their (Living Here Wilston) 1999 Subaru WRX.  The pair winning every stage bar the last, also winning fastest Four Wheel Drive (4WD) class. Coming second outright and 4WD was Carey Cahal and Ronnie Bustard, (Glendun Group) in a 2009 Mitsubishi Evo 9.  Carey/Bustard tried hard to reign in the winners with a fastest time on the final stage, but could only reduce the gap to 14s. Third place and fastest Rear Wheel Drive (RWD) was Craig Aggio and Megan Benson (Steerfast) in a classic Toyota Corolla KE30.

Following in fourth outright and third 4WD was Kim Acworth and Ryan Preston (Acworth Recruitment) in their 2004 Subaru WRX Sti.  Rounding out the top 5 was Shaun Dragona and Ray Priest (Dasha Racing) in a 2003 Subaru WRX Sti.

For the class of RWD coming second in a 1974 Mazda RX2 was David Ovenden and Bruce Tyler (Frame Warehouse Ashgrove), followed by an improving Dominic Corkeron and Dennis Neagle (Managed Consulting) 1988 BMW E30.

For the class of Front Wheel Drive (FWD)it was a family affair.  First place, making a return to the sport, was Tim Dillon and mum Debbie Dillon in a 1998 Hyundai Excel.  Second place was brother Nathaniel Dillon and Mark Malpas ( 1996 Suzuki Baleno and third place were brothers Stephen and Jarryd Whittaker (Whittaker Rally Sport) Mitsubishi Mirage.

The next KCF Rallysport Short Course Challenge will be located in the forest of Jimna Saturday October 26.


Media release supplied by a competitor.


Rally, Off-Road Racing, Touring Road Events and many more!

Rallies are conducted over public and forest roads that are closed to the public. Off-Road events are conducted on private land with the owner’s permission. And Touring Road Events are non-speed based events conducted on public roads.

There are many activities required to ensure the activity is safe and controlled and public access restricted. Each event has a different requirement for officials however some of the jobs we need include:

  • Road Closure Officials – you get to be right next to the course in a safe location, sometimes in radio contact to ensure no one enters without authorisation, but with your own private viewing spot
  • Control Officials – events are timed so we need officials to record time, start cars and communicate results and control the flow of cars
  • Course Car Officials – we have vehicles, usually 4WD’s go ahead and behind the field to ensure the roads are clear and course is correct and all competitors are safe
  • HQ officials – we use a radio network to control events and this is operated by experienced officials who control the rally and ensure everyone’s safety.

Email us today:

Next Upcoming Event
26 October 2019
  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00


2018 Champions

QRC Champions – Ian Menzies and Robert McGowan

QRC 2wd & Junior Champions – Brayden Wilson and Blake Wilson

Novice Champions – Ben Crisp and Brad Jones

Clubman Champions – Jesse Heitmann and Grant Burisch